Start Page






Dynamic Aspects Workshop (DAW05)

Call for Papers

call for papers (plain ASCII)

Join points are the locus of aspect and functional code interaction. Traditional aspect systems define join points in terms of the static structure of programs, such as syntactic method calls, method entry and field access.

Research interests of the AOSD community have been extended beyond static aspects. In some situations, it is desirable to invoke or change aspect behavior based on the dynamics of program execution. Such situations include changing behavior based on the call-stack context, co-occurrence of predicate triggers, concurrent thread status, or events in the underlying interpreter such as storage reclamation or process scheduling.

This workshop will identify examples of useful dynamic aspect behavior, suggest appropriate linguistic structures for dynamic aspects, and discuss implementation techniques for dynamic aspects, such as shadow compilation, dynamically changeable hook points, and modifications required in the underlying execution environment. The workshop organizers are particularly interested in position papers that describe experience with dynamic aspect systems or that outline real problems which need dynamic aspects.

Topics and Motivation

The theme of the workshop is dynamic aspects, an emerging frontier in the expansion of aspect technologies.

The topics of the workshop include:

  • Application scenarios for and applications of dynamic aspects
  • Linguistic structures for dynamic aspects
  • Implementation mechanisms for dynamic aspects
  • Enabling technologies and environment support for dynamic aspects (e.g., debuggers, IDEs)
  • Models for dynamic aspects
  • Validation techniques for dynamic aspects
  • Achieving the effect of dynamic aspects in conventional programming environments
  • Challenges and research directions


We expect to run the workshop as a combination of demonstrations, paper presentations, and working groups. The workshop's format will correspond to a writer's workshop format, having its main focus is on the interaction of the participants. Hence, a lot of time is planned for discussions about the accepted papers. Based on these discussions, typical working groups would explore issues such as developing a set of reference problems and requirements for the implementers of dynamic aspect systems, taxonomic organizations of the dynamic aspect space, implementation techniques for dynamic aspect systems, and catalogs of applications that could be improved by the existence of dynamic aspect mechanisms. We expect the working groups to present their material to all workshop participants.

Depending on the quality of the submitted papers, we will publish them as a technical report and may seek a more influential vehicle for wider dissemination of the better papers.

This workshop is a successor to last year's AOSD Dynamic Aspects Workshop and the ECOOP 2003 Workshop on Advancing the State-of-the-Art in Runtime Inspection (ASARTI).

Submission and Invitation

Attendance at the workshop is by invitation. Prospective workshop participants are requested to submit to <>, either (1) a full paper of up to 6,000 words, describing work on a topic germane to dynamic aspects, or (2) a position paper of up to 2,000 words. Submissions should use the ACM format, templates for which can be found at We especially welcome submissions that address multiple elements in the topic list for example, implementations along with a more formal discussion of their program model, or linguistic structures with examples of their application. If quality of enough submitted full papers merits, the workshop organizers will seek an archival publication for those papers.

Key Dates

Full and position papers due: January 16th, 2005
Invitations issued: February 3rd, 2005
Final copy of papers due: February 19th, 2005
Workshop: March, 15th, 2005

Organizing Committee

Robert Filman

Michael Haupt
Darmstadt University of Technology

Robert Hirschfeld
DoCoMo Euro-Labs

Program Committee

Johan Brichau, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Ruzanna Chitchyan, Lancaster University
Yvonne Coady, University of Victoria
Pascal Costanza, University of Bonn
Robert Filman, NASA Ames Research Center (co-organiser)
Stefan Hanenberg, University of Essen
Michael Haupt, Darmstadt University of Technology (co-organiser)
Stephan Herrmann, Technical University Berlin
Robert Hirschfeld, DoCoMo Euro-Labs (co-organiser)
Guenter Kniesel, University of Bonn
Cristina Lopes, University of California, Irvine
Katharina Mehner, Technical University Berlin
Mario Südholt, Ecole des Mines de Nantes


AOSD 2005

2005-01-08 Michael Haupt, <>