Conference Archive

Past editions of Modularity/AOSD:

Modularity Symposium 2017

  • Co-located with ‹Programming› 2017, April 3–6, 2017
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  • One-day symposium invited talks
  • Invited speakers: Mira Mezini, Lodewijk Bergmans, Mario Südholt, Bedir Tekinerdogan, Uwe Aßmann, Shmuel Katz, Stéphane Ducasse, Jörg Kienzle
  • no procceedings


  • University of Malaga, Málaga, Spain, March 14–17, 2016
  • General chair: Lidia Fuentes
  • Program chairs: Don Batory (Research Results) and Krzysztof Czarnecki (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Sven Apel, Alan Borning, Cristina Videira Lopes, Gang Tan (MASS), and Sasa Misailovic (MASS)
  • Best research paper award: The Expression Problem, Trivially! by Yanlin Wang and Bruno C. d. S. Oliveira
  • Best visions paper award: Modular Architecture for Code and Metadata Sharing by Tomas Tauber and Bruno C. d. S. Oliveira
  • Most influential paper award: A Join Point for Loops in AspectJ by Bruno Harbulot and John R. Gurd (AOSD 2006)
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library


  • Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA, March 16–19, 2015
  • General chairs: Robert France and Sudipto Ghosh
  • Program chairs: Gary T. Leavens (Research Results) and Eelco Visser (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Joanne M. Atlee, Don Batory, John Boyland (FOAL), Robert Hirschfeld (FOAL), Yu David Liu (FOAL), and Peter D Mosses
  • Best paper award: Feature Scattering in the Large—A Longitudinal Study of Linux Kernel Device Drivers by Leonardo Passos, Jesús Padilla, Thorsten Berger, Sven Apel, Krzysztof Czarnecki, and Marco Valente
  • Most influential paper award: Mylar: A Degree-of-interest Model for IDEs by Mik Kersten and Gail C. Murphy (AOSD 2005)
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library


  • University of Lugano, Lugano, Switzerland, April 22–25, 2014
  • General chair: Walter Binder
  • Program chairs: Erik Ernst (Research Results) and Robert Hirschfeld (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Shigeru Chiba (FOAL), Julia Lawall, Eelco Visser, and Thomas Würthinger
  • Best paper award: Assessing Modularity using Co-Change Clusters by Luciana Lourdes Silva, Marco Tulio Valente, and Marcelo de A. Maia
  • Most influential paper award: Advice Weaving in AspectJ by Erik Hilsdale and Jim Hugunin (AOSD 2004)
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library

MODULARITY: aosd 2013

  • Fukuoka International Congress Center, Fukuoka, Japan, March 24–29, 2013
  • General chair: Hidehiko Masuhara
  • Program chairs: Jörg Kienzle (Research Results) and Elisa Baniassad and David Lorenz (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Takahiro Fujimoto, Atsushi Igarashi (FOAL), Kyo Chul Kang, Steven P. Reiss, Tetsuo Tamai (AOAsia/Pacific)
  • Best paper award: Reactive Behavior in Object-oriented Applications: An Analysis and a Research Roadmap by Guido Salvaneschi and Mira Mezini
  • Most influential paper award: Modularisation and Composition of Aspectual Requirements by Awais Rashid, Ana Moreira, João Araújo (AOSD 2003)
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library

MODULARITY: aosd 2012

  • Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam, Potsdam, Germany, March 25–30, 2012
  • General chair: Robert Hirschfeld
  • Program chairs: Éric Tanter (Research Results) and Kevin Sullivan (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Lars Bak, James O. Coplien, Cristina Videira Lopes (Banquet), and Martin C. Rinard
  • Best paper award: A Complete Debugger for Aspect-Oriented Programming by Haihan Yin, Christoph Bockisch, and Mehmet Akşit
  • Most influential paper award: Dynamic Weaving for Aspect-Oriented Programming by Andrei Popovici, Thomas Gross, and Gustavo Alonso (AOSD 2002)
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2011

  • Porto de Galinhas, Pernambuco, Brazil, March 21–25, 2011
  • General chair: Paulo Borba
  • Program chairs: Shigeru Chiba (Research Results) and Harold Ossher (Modularity Visions)
  • Keynote speakers: Gilad Bracha, Jim Herbsleb, André van der Hoek, Kirk Knoernschild, and Mary Shaw
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Companion: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2010

  • Rennes and Saint Malo, France, March 15–19, 2010
  • General chair: Jean-Marc Jézéquel
  • Program chair: Mario Südholt
  • Keynote speakers: Rod Johnson, Martin Odersky, and Martin Rinard
  • Best paper award: Execution Levels for Aspect-Oriented Programming by Éric Tanter
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2009

  • Charlottesville, Virginia, USA, March 2–6, 2009
  • General chair: Kevin Sullivan
  • Program chairs: Ana Moreira and Christa Schwanninger
  • Keynote speakers: Paul Daugherty, Gail Murphy, and John A. Stankovic
  • Best paper award: TBD
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2008

  • Brussels, Belgium, March 31–April 4, 2008
  • General chair: Theo D’Hondt
  • Program chair: Mira Mezini
  • Keynote speakers: Gul Agha, Regine Meunier, Philip Wadler, and Daniel Wiese
  • Best paper award: TBD
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2007

  • Vancouver, Canada, March 12–16, 2007
  • General chair: Brian Barry
  • Program chair: Oege de Moor
  • Keynote speakers: Adrian Colyer, John Lamping, and Gerald Jay Sussman
  • Best paper award: TBD
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2006

  • Bonn, Germany, March 20–24, 2006
  • General chair: Robert Filman
  • Program chair: Hidehiko Masuhara
  • Keynote speakers: Carliss Baldwin and Richard P. Gabriel
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2005

  • Chicago, Illinois, USA, March 14–18, 2005
  • General chair: Mira Mezini
  • Program chair: Peri Tarr
  • Keynote speakers: Grady Booch and Dave Thomas
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2004

  • Lancaster, UK, March 22–26, 2004
  • General chair: Gail Murphy
  • Program chair: Karl Lieberherr
  • Keynote speakers: Bashar Nuseibeh and Daniel Sabbah
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2003

  • Boston, Massachusetts, USA, March 17–21, 2003
  • General chair: William G. Griswold
  • Program chair: Mehmet Akşit
  • Keynote speakers: Gregor Kiczales and Satoshi Matsuoka
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library

AOSD 2002

  • Enschede, The Netherlands, April 22–26, 2002
  • General chair: Harold Ossher
  • Program chair: Gregor Kiczales
  • Keynote speakers: Michael Jackson and Linda Northrop
  • Proceedings: ACM Digital Library
  • Internet Archive: Way Back Machine

Note: Mirgation in progress