AOSD Conference
›› Keynotes
›› Research Track
›› Industry Track
›› Demonstrations
›› Tutorials
›› Workshops
›› Spring School
›› BoFs
›› Research Papers
›› Industry Papers
›› Workshops
›› Tutorials
›› Demonstrations

Call for Research Papers

CyberChair submission is now closed. Thank you for all of your submissions.

Important Dates

Research paper abstract submission: Friday, September 22, 2006, 23:59 (Samoan)
Research paper submission: Friday, September 29, 2006, 23:59 (Samoan)
Author response period starts: Monday, November 20, 2006, 00:01 (Samoan, 48 hours)
Acceptance notification: Wednesday, December 6, 2006
Camera-ready copy: Friday, January 19, 2007, 23:59 (Samoan)

The International Conference on Aspect-Oriented Software Development (AOSD) is the premier conference on software modularity that crosscuts traditional abstraction boundaries. AOSD brings together researchers and practitioners working in the fields of software engineering, programming languages, and software systems. AOSD welcomes cutting-edge research papers in all of these disciplines, ranging from foundational studies to industrial experience reports. Papers that present elegant, instructive examples of aspect-oriented programs are also welcome. Topics of interest include all facets of aspect-oriented software development, including (but not limited to) the following:

aspects in software engineering:

  • evaluation and metrics
  • modular reasoning
  • evolution
  • requirements
  • testing aspects
  • software architectures
  • verification

aspect programming languages:

  • features for crosscutting concerns
  • domain-specific aspect languages
  • modular reasoning
  • aspect composition
  • aspect interference
  • type systems
  • semantics
  • compilation
  • program analysis
  • optimisation
  • dynamic weaving

connection between aspects and related paradigms:

  • model-driven architecture
  • generative programming
  • meta-programming
  • program monitoring



applications of aspects:

  • performance improvement
  • concurrent systems
  • security
  • program monitoring
  • software product lines
  • distributed systems and middleware
  • persistence and transaction processing

tool support for aspects:

  • aspect mining
  • reverse engineering
  • program views
  • refactoring
  • interactive development environments


Research Program Committee

Research Program Chair

The Research Program Chair is Oege de Moor (University of Oxford). Prospective authors are welcome to direct any queries about the research program to the chair at

Submission Guidelines

Submissions will be carried out electronically via the Web to our CyberChair site. Papers must be submitted in either PDF format or as PostScript documents that are interpretable by Ghostscript. They must be printable on US Letter sized paper.

Due date and time

Authors should submit a 100-200 word abstract by 23:59 (Samoan) Friday, September 22, 2006, and a full paper by 23:59 (Samoan) Friday, September 29, 2006.

Length and format

Submissions should be no more than 12 pages (including bibliography and any appendices) in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format:

The submission deadline, length limitations and formatting instructions are firm: any submissions that deviate from these will be rejected by the research program chair. Submitted papers must adhere to SIGPLAN’s republication policy. Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, clearly identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. Where appropriate, systems and experimental data should be made available on the web. Authors should strive to make the technical content of their papers understandable to a broad audience.

Author response period

Authors will be given a 48-hour period (starting Monday, 20 November 2006, 00:01 Samoan) to read and respond to the reviews for their papers before the PC meeting.

Authors of submitted papers will receive more details from the submission website when it is available.

Edited by the AOSD Conference Committee.  Send comments to: